Substack baby!

This is a very quick post to say that I have started a Substack and from now on most of my booze-inspired meanderings will be found here: henryjeffreys.substack.com World of Booze is dead, long live Drinking Culture! Please sign up as it will make me feel important and you’ll get lots of good things to read. I’ve also started a monthly drinks column for The Critic magazine which is worth subscribing to. And finally my forthcoming book Vines in a Cold Climate: the people behind the English wine revolution is in the final stages of edits and will be available in August. You can order a copy here. That’s it! See you in the future.

About Henry

I’m a drinks writer. My day job is features editor at the Master of Malt blog. I also contribute to BBC Good Food, the Spectator and others. You can read some of my work here. I’ve done a bit of radio, given some talks and written a couple of books (Empire of Booze, The Home Bar and the forthcoming Cocktail Dictionary).
This entry was posted in Wine articles. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Substack baby!

  1. mike says:

    Hi Henry. Looking forward to your new tome on English wine. I wondered how it might differ from Abbie Moulton’s recent book on British Wine (New Makers, New Flavours, New Ethos)? Have you read it? I’ve registered for your Substack. Looking forward to following your vinous whimsy. Bestest. Mike

    • Henry says:

      Hello Mike, I have just received a copy of Abbie’s book and it’s a beautiful thing. She’s picked a few producers, plus some bars, restaurants etc and profiled them alongside some great photos. Mine is more of a journalistic look at the industry, its recent history, the heroes and villains, the problems and where it’s going. So very very different I am relieved to say. H

      • Hey Henry. Appreciate the reply and great to know you’re coming at the subject from a different perspective. Your writing is always so effortless and readable I’m looking forward to getting hold of a copy for Easter.

        Hope sales are strong and your publisher is proud of what you’ve achieved. Hoping you get nominated for one of the food and drink writing awards in 2023.

        Warmest wishes.
        Mike

Leave a comment