Introducing . . . . the Martoni

a073bb1f-30a9-4093-a21c-b6802eb75cc5

I’m not bragging so don’t put me down but I’ve just invented a game-changing new cocktail. All you mixologists out there better give up and go home. Basically it’s a martini crossed with a negroni. I call it the Martoni. Imagine you’re making a classic martini but instead of just vermouth, add a little Campari. It brings out the citrus flavours in the gin and give it a pleasing pink tinge. It’s deliciously drinkable. I’m on my second now and contemplating a third.

Here’s the recipe:

House gin –  three shots

Campari – one tablespoon

Noilly Prat ambre – one tablespoon (Quite hard to get hold of, I think this would work nicely with ordinary Noilly Prat or even Martini rosso)

Stir in a cocktail shaker with loads of ice, strain into a frozen martini glass with some orange peel.

 

About Henry

I’m a drinks writer. My day job is features editor at the Master of Malt blog. I also contribute to BBC Good Food, the Spectator and others. You can read some of my work here. I’ve done a bit of radio, given some talks and written a couple of books (Empire of Booze, The Home Bar and the forthcoming Cocktail Dictionary).
This entry was posted in Spirits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing . . . . the Martoni

  1. maturinggracefully says:

    It’s a bit like my let’s call it ‘gintoni’: gin with a splash of Sacred Rosehip Cup liqueur (or other bitter cordial) refreshed/charged with tonic. Tonight mine looked like a tumbler of Provence Rose but tasted so much more seriously grown up.

  2. ginbralter says:

    Dick Bradsell R.I.P God bless him, would be proud. I shall try it at breakfast tomorrow.

    Paul

    >

  3. Alberto says:

    I just invented the Martoni myself… and totally independently, I sware! I have been preparing this thing a couple of times, and today I said, I will call it Martoni. Then I said let’s google it, if it exist, it means nothing can be invented any more! And found your recipe! Mine is with Campari and Martini Rosso… exactly the same approach, one spoon, one spoon, and a full dose of gin… twist of pink grapefruit (you may want to try it). I am not disappointed though… how that could be, after a good Martoni!!

  4. Alberto says:

    And, by the way, you were here seven years before me!! 🙂

Leave a comment