Crowd sauce!

Well it might finally be happening. I might be writing a book, well actually I am writing a book, it just now might be published. I originally called this blog World of Booze so that it would complement by nascent book, Empire of Booze. It’s being published by Unbound which means that it will only happen if enough people pledge money so please pledge and pledge big. Details here. It’s only £20 or £10 for an ebook or you can spend more on having me as you personal booze slave for a night.

The book is a loose history of Britain told through drink. The drink interests me more than the history so perhaps I’d better describe it as a book about booze told through British history. It’s about how more by accident than by design, the British in uniting into one country, becoming rich, colonising other countries, fighting wars, raising taxes and generally being extremely energetic, created the drinks that we enjoy today.

Some well-known writers have said nice things about me in return for a bottle of Bristol Cream:

“Henry Jeffreys is everything you want a wine writer to be: funny, knowing, unpretentious but also un-blokeish, funny, clever, refreshing, original, funny and inquisitive. And did I say funny?” – Craig Brown

“Even if you don’t like wine, and you don’t like reading, you will enjoy reading Henry Jeffreys on wine and other ‘tipples’ (sorry – banned word). He writes so well on wine that I made him the first ever ‘Wine Columnist’ of The Lady magazine. If you don’t enjoy his tour d’horizon of the British Isles through alcohol I will give you your money back.” – Rachel Johnson

“I am a great admirer of Henry Jeffreys and have been eagerly awaiting his booze and empire book for many years!” – Elif Batuman

Please spread the word. Do it for Britain, for literature and the love of strong drink!

About Henry

I’m a drinks writer. My day job is features editor at the Master of Malt blog. I also contribute to BBC Good Food, the Spectator and others. You can read some of my work here. I’ve done a bit of radio, given some talks and written a couple of books (Empire of Booze, The Home Bar and the forthcoming Cocktail Dictionary).
This entry was posted in Wine articles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment